More about the trust

NHS Provider licence: Self-certification


The Health and Social Care Act 2012 introduced the concept of a Licence for providers of NHS services, and the NHS Provider Licence was subsequently introduced in February 2013.

Foundation Trusts were licensed from April 2013, with other providers being licensed from April 2014, but it was later confirmed that the Licence would not apply to NHS Trusts. Despite this, in April 2017, NHS Improvement (NHSI) confirmed that NHS Trusts must undertake a self-certification against the NHS Provider Licence, on the basis that, despite their exemption, directions from the Secretary of State required NHSI to ensure that NHS Trusts complied with conditions equivalent to the Licence, as it deemed appropriate.

As NHSI’s Single Oversight Framework (SOF) bases its oversight on the Licence, NHS Trusts are therefore legally subject to the equivalent of certain Provider Licence conditions, and must self-certify under these licence provisions.

These conditions are:

Condition G6

Condition G6(2) requires trusts to have processes and systems that:

Providers must annually review whether these processes and systems are effective.

Condition FT4

The Licensee shall apply those principles, systems and standards of good corporate governance which reasonably would be regarded as appropriate for a supplier of health care services to the NHS. Without prejudice to the generality of paragraph 2 and to the generality of General Condition 5, the Licensee shall:

The Licensee shall establish and implement:


The Quality Committee reviewed and approved the 2019/20 self-certifications for Condition G6 and Condition FT4 on behalf of the Board at its meeting on 30 April 2020.  The Board endorsed this decision on 07 May 2020.